Chapter 3 – Attack in the night

The night is quiet, not even one sound. Although I always wake up in silence, years of experience tell told me that this kind of silence was too abnormal.

I quietly stood up and took the sharp blade that has been with me for so many years— Liuguang[1].

At this time, it is better to use this than a gun. To kill silently, it will not expose your stance to your enemies. I put a pillow under the quilt and hid in the dark behind the curtains.

Sure enough after a while, someone holding a gun slowly sneaked into my bedroom.

Beiyue arranged at least twenty experts to protect me here. Getting past them has indicated of their ability. 

I secretly held my breath when two more people came in one after the other.  The one who came here first silently leaned into the bed, lifted the quilt only to see that there were only pillows underneath. They realized that they had been tricked and immediately turned the muzzle of the their guns. They are all experts— quick to respond to situations. 

However, they can’t be any faster than me. And I would not give them any chance. I pulled of the window screen between us. Then with the sound of the screen cracking, I cut their throats swiftly.

It has been a long time since I killed someone. My technique has become rusty, but still I slashed them to their deaths.

What should I do now? My mind is rapidly calculating the situation. But maybe it’s because of my hearing loss, my alertness has become so much worse. Otherwise, I would have noticed them long before they got close to my bedroom.

I’m afraid that this house has already been surrounded by their men and impossible to rush out. Now, all I can do is stall time as long as possible. I hope that the guard had at least alerted Beiyue so he should be sending people soon.

Waiting for Beiyue’s rescue, I don’t know if I can still wait. I hid the bodies under my bed and walked out of the bedroom under the cover of darkness.

The house is not big, but the structure is very complicated, enough for me to move around. This is one of the reasons why Beiyue chose this as my safe house. 

As the enemies did not understand the roundabouts, although they have already surrounded the perimeter, it will take a lot of effort to search the house in its entirety.

And knowing the twists and turns, this is my only advantage. I rushed to the extremely secretive basement. If I can get in there, they will not easily find me, at least until Beiyue comes.

But can I even reach the basement without them finding me? I still tried my luck. There is no choice.

I borrowed the shadows like a beast as I walked in the dark. Years of training has taught me how to use the night to protect myself in unexpected danger. Therefore, I did not panic. Qiao Yi has always admired me for this. There more dangerous, the calmer I become.

However this time, my heart felt inexplicably flustered. My gut which has been seasoned through the years tells me that it would be difficult to escape this time.

I slowly approached the entrance of the basement. But in the dark, I saw two wandering people in its mouth. Looking at the situation, I deduced that they are carrying out a carpet search in pairs. At this point, I am afraid that they will never give up unless I am caught.

And I must let them discover the basement. This is my last chance. 

I deliberately made a sound to distract one of them away. And then I took the other person’s unpreparedness, covered his mouth from behind to cut his throat neatly. He fell down before he can even groan.

I was born to kill. Trained to kill. Although I have not handled a knife for a long time, my hands quickly get accustomed to the feeling. The smell of blood rushed into my brain and electrified every cell of my body. But my body’s consciousness was far behind my consciousness. 

The other man realized something was wrong, turned around quickly and aimed the gun at me. I held the pistol at one hand, but I was still a step slower. The gunshot rang and I whispered, “It’s over!”

My sharp voice immediately cut through the silence of the cold night. Although the bullet did not pierced though my body, it still scraped through my skin causing a burning pain in my neck. I ignored the pain and hit numbing acupoint under his ribs with my elbow as I unloaded the gun with the other hand. I can easily dismantle this kind of pistol even with my eyes closed. And then I used Liuguang to slash the tendon of his hands.

He immediately grabbed his wrist and screamed. Although our location has been exposed, I still did not want him to make too much noise. Besides, his screams are really annoying.

I immediately picked up the statue next to him and smashed his head. Next moment, he laid still on the ground.

I used all the insidious and ruthless tricks I know. My natural killer’s instinct. And the most important thing is to successfully kill. And killing is not a martial arts competition, you could not talk sense. We don’t pay attention to the process— we only need the results.

I quickly went down the entrance of the basement. But before I can touch the door, the whole room suddenly lit up. I was surrounded by a dozen more people, and there was nowhere to hide.

I smiled. And seeing my face, the surrounding experts were obviously startled.  What? They expected me to cry?

Fine. Maybe smiling in this predicament is indeed very strange. Maybe if I show an expression of resentment, they will accept it more easily.

At this time, my hands were already stained with bright red blood. The strong smell stimulates my nerves making the whole of my body excited.

Looking down at the Liuguang in my hand, its blade blood-stained, but is still shining with a strange light. It was really a beautiful weapon. I remember the person who gave this to me. He once said that this sharp blade is human…

I squeezed it tightly. Even though the chance was slim, I still would not sit still and wait for death. If I had to die, I will die fighting.


Previous | Table of Contents | <a href="http://&lt;!– wp:paragraph –> <p>More than a decade ago, in a conspiracy to overthrow the the leader of the Dutch underworld organization "The Red Room" (Chi Yu), his then 12-year-old illegitimate daughter Xuanyuan Ningxi, was secretly trafficked to a horrible and bloody killer training-base- "Rebirth Island" (Wangsheng Island)</p> <!– /wp:paragraph –> <!– wp:paragraph –> <p>On this isolated hell of an island, she met a man who changed her life – Xuan Siye who was 8 years her senior and is an instructor on the island. He has excellent ability but a violent temperament. However he only has a soft spot for her- treating her with special preference. Finally, when she was 16 years old, Xuan Siye forcibly already occupied her for a killing job.</p> <!– /wp:paragraph –> <!– wp:paragraph –> <p>Two years later, in order to break away from the control of the island base, the 18-year-old Ningxi made use of Xuan Siye to destroy it. She pierced his chest with a blade having the desperate, sad and indignant Xuan Siye fall into the deep sea.</p> <!– /wp:paragraph –> <!– wp:paragraph –> <p>After that, Ningxi left the Rebirth Island with her training partners Yuan Xu, Teng Jun and several others. They returned to the Netherlands to set up the "Shadow hall" (Ying Tang), to revive the power of the Xuanyuan's family</p> <!– /wp:paragraph –> <!– wp:paragraph –> <p>Unexpectedly, four years later, "The Red Room" repeatedly received attacs from a secret organization from Asia, with the same modus as that of Xuan Siye therefore making it a battle of love and hate, a contest of blood and fire, and a subversion of schemes and conspiracies. Since then, her heroic picture of redemption and destruction started to unfold.</p> Next

Notes:

[1] 流光 (liuguang) literally means flowing light

Published by uglytranslations

translations and others

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started