Chapter 1 – Gloomy Night

The winter is Japan is really cold, and the chill in the mountain is even colder.

My hands are red from the cold. My skin has gone pale as I curled up on the steps, but I still refused to get inside the house.

I thought to myself.. In a moment, the sun will set. I pulled my clothes, the chill soaking through by shaking body.

It’s really cold! My hands and feat are already frozen stiff, but I decided I will go inside after watching.

I like to watch the sunset. I have loves it since I was a child. In the 26 years of my life, I have witnessed the beauty of the sky countless times— in the high Alps, the vast grasslands of northern Tibet, the Sahara desert, even in the golden coast of the Atlantic ocean— and compared to these places, the sunset here is not beautiful.

Fuzzy distant mountains, the smoky haze, and the sunset had a silver-gray hue which shone no warmth. It is full of sad light.

I sighed lightly because I cannot be picky. At least I can still witness this and I have to thank the heavens for the favor. This is still surprisingly positive.

“Sitting in the cold, do you want to die?”

A coat is draped on my body still with the lingering warmth from the owner. I tightened it on my body as I look up. Hi eyes are amber flashed with a faint moist. It’s clear and slightly stunned.

I smiled and said, “Beiyue, when did you come?”

“As soon as I arrive, I already saw you curled up in here. It’s too cold. Go inside.” He bent over, wrapped me tightly in his arms with a hug.

“The sun is about to set. Let me watch it for a while…” I hooked my arms around his neck and begged.

“Hay.” He sighed, “I’ll accompany you, then.”

“En.” I nodded.

He hugged me as we sit on the steps and watched the sunset together.

Beiyue’s body is very warm with a faint cold fragrance which is very refreshing. I have always believed that his clothes contained the spirit of flowers— just as how I been persistently believing that there is a fragrance when the cherry blossoms are in full bloom. The smell only comes out in a flash, but it flows forever.

I buried my head in his arms, absorbing his warmth and the tranquility of his heard.

Looking at the fading light in the sky, I said softly, “Beiyue, I’m sorry.”

He looked down at me and said, “Why are you saying that all of a sudden?”

“I always give you trouble…”

He sighed, “I still wasn’t able to take good care of you. I failed in fulfilling auntie’s request…”

I smiled. “That’s not true. You are taking good care of me…”

He looked at me and the crystal of his eyes reflected my pale face. He said distressfully, “How can you still be positive with the way you are now?”

I lowered my eyes and stared at his buttons as I quietly said, “I brought this upon myself…”

He shuddered slightly, tightened his arms again. “Don’t say that. He owed you enough.”

I nodded. “It’s enough, but I’m afraid that’s not what he thinks.”

For that person, I am afraid that it would be hard to dispel hi anger even if I break my bones and I become ashes.

“Ningxi…” He wanted to say something but he stopped.

I looked up at him, “Biyue, if you have anything to say, just speak.”

“He has already alerted the government of this place… I’m afraid it is not safe here anymore. Ningxi, leave the house. I can’t keep you anymore.”

I didn’t say anything. I just looked at the dark gray sky in the distance, the last ray of light disappearing, and the world starts to dim.

I pulled the corners of my lips, forcing a smile.

“Beiyue, where else can I go if I leave here?”

The sky is high, the earth is wide. The world is so vast but there is no place for the small Xuanyuan Ningxi.

“Ningxi, go to Italy. Now, only the Hai Laiyin family dares to protect you. They have been here several times. The head of the family said that if you don’t go there this time, he will personally come to get you.

Oh. More than anything else, these words sounded more like a threat.

I shook my head and firmly said, “I’m not going.”

“Ningxi…” He looked at me.


Table of Contents | Next

Published by uglytranslations

translations and others

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started